Drama Review: Lookout

Spoilers ahead. Read at your own risk.

Lookout tells the story of a group of people –  Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young), Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang), Kim Eun Joong (Kim Tae Hoon), Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi), and Gong Kyung Soo (Key) – who put it to their own hands to give justice to those who are in need of it.

Action, check. Drama, check. Crazy, push-you-to-the-edge-of-your-seat plot, check. This drama is crazy good it left me covering my mouth with my hands in disbelief of how good it was.

The action-filled drama’s plotline was so good and twisted, it gave me headaches. But of course, in a good way. Hands down one of the best action dramas I have watched and encountered. It got me thinking, sympathizing, and going crazy over a set of fictional people.

Of course I’d like to commend the whole cast of this drama. I think a great part of the success of a drama is based on how the actors and actresses give life to their characters. And I have to say, they did a great job. From our main characters to the villains to the scene stealers, everyone did a splendid acting job.

I sympathized and my heart ached for the main characters and their back stories. So that’s a point for the actors and the drama’s team of writers, back-to-back.

Although I think everyone did an amazing job at portaying their characters, I think two actors stood out the most. And they are *drumroll* Lee Si Young who played main character Jo Soo Ji and young actor Park Solomon who played evil Yoon Si Wan.

Having knowledge of Lee Si Young’s boxing background and the fact that she did her stunts without any stuntwomen make it more exciting to see her action-filled scenes on screen. It makes it seem more real and makes you realize what a badass of an actress and a woman she really is.

Park Solomon, on the other hand, did such a great job at playing an evil teen disguising as the perfect son that I wanted to punch him. His portayal was off the scale and he made it believable. And he made that look so easy. Everytime his evil smile appears, I just wanted to punch my phone and hope he receives it.

The drama absolutely did not fail at the thrilling part since I was on the edge of my seat at every episode. It did not bore me and somehow, the lack of romance in this one really helped it go into all the dramatic twists and turns it has in store for its viewers.

The ending was a roller coaster ride and I was literally rolling on my bed out of frustration, shock, disbelief, and all other emotions related to it during the last three episodes of the drama. My hand was on my mouth the whole time and all I cound think of were the words no, oh my god, and please. There were also countless times wherein I combined all those words and came up with “oh my god please no.”

The drama and the ending took twists and turns I never thought I’d see and at the same time, sort of expected but couldn’t get myself to believe.

In short, this drama is highly recommended and is a must-watch for those of you who seek a little thrill in your lives.

Note: credits to all owners of photos used for this blog

Leave a Reply

