Drama Review: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Spoilers ahead. You have been warned.

A drama about life, romance, dreams, and working hard to achieve them, Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo makes you itch to live your youthful years for a more worthwhile  life.

The amazing chemistry between Kim Bok Joo (Lee Sung Kyung) and Joon Jung Hyung (Nam Joo Hyuk) makes you fall in love with love. They make it seem like falling in love and being loved by the one you love is the best thing in the world. Normally, I would hate all the cheesy couple moments, but with them, I just don’t. I loved their scenes and I can’t remember a time when I felt like there were too much cheesy moments. They made me laugh, cry, and just made me fall in love with the idea of falling in love.

The unlikely friendship between these five people was too fun to watch. Yes, they were different in many aspects but they were brought together by some special force and I have to say that’s one great way to start a friendship. Consecutively watching two dramas about college life (Cheese in the Trap and now this) made me miss my college friends and wish to go back to school immediately (we’re on a school break right now lol).

One of the best things I loved about this drama was how I felt the emotions the show and the characters were trying to convey. Their emotions and feelings were so real I can’t help but feel it with them. I especially loved the characters’ crying and heartbreaking moments because it looked and felt so real and they made it look like they were not acting at all. The funny thing though, was how I found myself crying over moments when I least expect myself to shed tears. I would cry at the main couple’s confession of their love for each other or over Nan Hee crying because her best friends finally came back to school and she wouldn’t have to eat alone anymore.

From the characters and actors to the funny and romantic moments, I loved and enjoyed this drama. But one thing I could say I didn’t like about this was the lack of plot and bring-me-to-the-edge-of-my-seat storyline. As a sports drama, and actually a first for me in that genre, I expected more heated atmosphere and drama between athletes and competitors. And this drama didn’t exactly give me that. I was hoping for more thrilling and exciting moments since this is supposed to be a drama about sports, but unfortunately, I didn’t get that from this drama.

Other than the lack of sports drama atmosphere despite being a sports drama, I loved everything else this drama has to offer. If you want to watch a feel-good drama without the heavy storyline most dramas have and an ending that will leave a smile on your face instead of tears, then Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is definitely for you.

Note: credits to all owners of photos used for this blog

Leave a Reply

