Drama Review: Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo

Spoiler alert! Read at your own risk.

Okay, I literally just finished watching Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo and I have no idea where to start. Okay, here goes.

This drama was just full of feels. It has been so long since I’ve watched a drama that has given me this much feels and it was a good thing I decided to watch this one. Whether it was romance, comedy, political drama, or just plain drama and heartache, this has it all.

The trace of confusion on Hae Soo’s (IU) face as she was transported back in time adds up to the drama’s comedy vibe, for the first few episodes at least. I liked how the drama didn’t start too heavy and gave off a few laughs before moving on to much heavier drama.

Oh, the drama. Whether be it political struggle and conspiracies, heartbreaking moments, or just plain tragedy that played off in the characters’ lives, I just loved it. It kept me on the edge of my seat after each episode, making me crave for more.

It has been so long since I’ve had a case of second male lead as bad as this one. Wook (Kang Ha Neul) was so sweet I was dying to see them have their happy ending. Seeing the 8th prince turn to the dark side and change from that sweet guy to that person greedy for power was too heartbreaking. I was left wishing he didn’t have to be pressured to change into that person so Soo could’ve ended up with him.

The side romances of this drama was just great you can’t help shipping the couples this drama throws at you. The fact that they all ended up in tragedy was too much for my little heart. Here’s what I’ve learned from watching period dramas: watch out for tragic deaths.

The friendship and bond between the princes was a sight to behold. The brotherly love they all share, despite all the fight for the throne, was heartwarming to watch. It was such a pity to see that love crumble into pieces as their greed for the crown eats them up.

Just like everybody else, I need a second season. I was just not satisfied with how Hae Soo came back to her time and So being left to feel loneliness like that. Second season in the present time? Yes please. Imagine how fun it would be to watch the princes cope up with life in the modern time, huh?

Note: credits to all owners of photos used for this blog

Leave a Reply

