Drama Review: Six Flying Dragons

Major spoilers ahead. You have been warned. Read at your own risk.

I just finished watching Six Flying Dragons and I have to say, it’s defintely a favorite when it comes Sageuk dramas. I love watching historical dramas – all the drama, governement conspiracies, and the never-ending twists – I crave for it. And this drama quenched my thirst for it.

With 50 episodes and a historical drama at that, I bet many are hesitant whether they should watch this drama or not. So I came up with a list of things I absolutely loved and you might want to look forward to if you ever decide to give this drama a try.

1. Mind-Blowing Turn of Events

One thing I really loved about this drama was how in 50 episodes, so much has happened and it seems like those 50 episodes were never enough. The characters dealt with so many things and with so many people trying stop them from realizing the great plan. Every twists will blow your mind, without a doubt. I don’t know how the team behind this drama did it, but kudos to them!

2. Action, Drama, Drama, and of course, Action

I absolutely love action. I don’t know why but I do. All the sword fights and wars in this drama are my favorite scenes. I especially love the times wherein they all come as one army (of course before Lee Bang Won, played by Yoo Ah In, was eaten by his desire for power) and fight alongside each other. Those moments always put me on the edge of my seat and just yell MY BABIES at people who are 10 or more years older than I am.

The drama, gosh. The drama and power struggle between characters was too entertaining to be missed. It wasn’t only the power struggle that gave this drama so much drama, but also the heartache you feel for the couples. The lack of romace in this one was so amazing that when their couples have these passing and heartbreaking moments, you can’t not ache for them. My heart especially ached for Ddang Sae/Lee Bang Ji (Byun Yo Han) and Yeon Hee (Jeong Yu Mi). Their childhood romance and the tragedy they both experienced is something you can’t just sit through without having your heartbreak.

3. Character Relationships

Another thing to look forward to when you decide to give this drama a try are the relationships built among the characters. The friendship their characters built throughout the drama is something you need to cry over. And of course, you need to get your tissues ready for moments when important people encounter death. My heart ached so muchfor the loss of so many people that I can’t help but ask how many more people must die???

4. Amaziiiiing Actors

I’ll be honest, this drama was on my to watch dramas list solely because of Yoo Ah In. I love him and his works and I’m not crazy enough to not watch a period drama wherein he was praised for his performance, and he absolutely did not disappoint and was able to live up for all the praises he gained for his performance in this drama.

This drama did not only made me fall in love with Yoo Ha In all over again, but it made me fall in love with Byun Yo Han and his amazing acting skills. I first saw him in the drama Ex-Girlfriend Club and I was awed at his acting skills by then. But this drama did a better job at that. The way he convey emotions is so amazing that you smile, laugh, and cry with him.

Yoon Kyun Sang was another actor who left me in awe of his performance. He perfectly portrayed a change in personality of a character. It was sad, honestly, to lose that funny and naive Moo Hyul when he came back from Ming, but nonetheless, he portrayed it amazingly.

The main characters weren’t the only ones who gave praise-worthy performances, even the minor and supporting characters did an amazing job you can’t help but wish a lead role for each one of them.

I never thought I could sit through a 50 episode drama and will be able to finish ot, but this drama made it all possible. Honestly, this was worthy of watching 50 episodes for.

Note: credits to all owners of photos used for this blog

Leave a Reply

