Drama Review: Doctors

img_5696

Major spoiler alert! Read at your own risk!

I was honestly hesitant to watch this drama because of the hype around it. I was traumatized by DOTS because a lot of people loved it and it actually started a new wave of Korean Drama fans around the world, but I was not impressed by that one. But surprisingly, I actually liked Doctors. I did not fell in love with it as with the other dramas I have watched, but I was not disappointed big time.

So, without further ado, here is a list of things I loved and hated in the drama.

What I loved:

1. Jin Seo Woo & Pi Young Gook

maxresdefault

The chemistry between these two was just off the roof! Honestly, or maybe I’m just being biased because of my love for Lee Sung Kyung, they had more chemistry than the main couple. The fact that they started from being friends and their long history just makes you want to root for them more. It was just a pity they didn’t get to put much of their story in the drama as they were not the main couple. Now, who’s with me in saying that we need a spin-off drama with them as the main couple? I seriously need the details of their friendship that started in school and all the struggles to keep their feelings a secret but eventually giving in.

2. Lee Sung Kyung, Lee Sung Kyung, and Lee Sung Kyung

et21779788_ori

I seriously love Lee Sung Kyung, she’s one of my favorite people in South Korea’s entertainment industry. She was amazing in this drama and I absolutely loved her performance. She cries, I cry with her. She laughs, I laugh with her. She smiles, I smile with her. That’s how amazing of an actress she is. And she definitely didn’t disappoint in this one. She deserves to be the star of her own drama and my happiness cannot be contained when she did land a lead role.

3. Patient Stories

455893_2016073114257585article

One thing I loved about this drama was the numerous life stories of their patients. It’s honestly one of the reasons why I always enjoy Medical Dramas. Some stories were honestly better than the main plot of the drama, or in this case, the drama’s lack of plot. My favorite patient stories were the ones pictured above.

What I hated:

1. Lack of plot

doctors06-00538

As I’ve mentioned above, the drama lacked plot and that was one downfall. If it wasn’t for the other characters who gave the drama its comedy vibe and the stories of several patients, I don’t know if I would’ve been able to finish this one. I believe the main plot of this drama, besides the love story between the two main characters, was Yoo Hye Jung (Park Shin Hye) looking for justice for her grandmother’s death. After a few episodes, the story became dull and it ended up with her not actually getting the justice she wanted in the first place.

2. The whole Hong Ji Hong & Yoo Hye Jung romance

oloi1

This one I did not actually hate, it just didn’t appeal to me that much. Personally, I’m a big fan of couples with an age gap. But with them, there was just something off that I couldn’t ship them full on. Yes, there were moments I undeniably rooted for them, but it just wasn’t enough for me to fall in love with them. And there was just something off with the whole student-teacher past they share. Especially with the fact that the first thing Hong Ji Hong (Kim Rae Won) did when he alighted from the helicopter was ask Hye Jung whether she’s married or is dating someone. Thinking that I love stories of taboo love, but still found it a little bit off. And also, what’s up with Ji Hong’s moments where he acts like a child? Isn’t he like 40? Yes, some moments were cute and funny. But anything excessive can be bad. I did not hate this a hundred percent, but those moments just became tiring and too much.

So, there it is. Everything above was how I felt when I finished this drama. I enjoyed and loved it, but not as much as other Medical Dramas I have watched. Have you watched Doctors? Hit up the comment section below and tell me what you think!

Note: credits to all owners of photos used for this blog

Leave a Reply

